On Keeping Up With Life

Posted on Updated on

Have you ever held your head between your shaking hands in pure frustration? Have you ever wished for the world to just come to an end? Have you ever felt so vulnerable that you felt giving up would spare you tons of trouble? Have you ever knelt down while your arms and head drooped in desperation? Have you ever cried your heart out because no one truly understood you?…

If your answer to all of the questions above is “no,” then I’m sorry, but you haven’t really lived, like, AT ALL. If, on the other hand, you had to put up with any of these or other traumatizing experiences, then I think we’d make very good friends.

During my journey as any ordinary mortal, I came across many situations that would be enough to make questioning my sanity an inevitable morning ritual! By way of example and not limitation, I’ve been discriminated against by my own people. I’ve been mugged at 4 am in my own neighborhood. I’ve been beaten up by gangs of bullies for no apparent reason, and for many times. I’ve spectacularly lost in the raging war of love. I’ve been picked on by people who either thought I was too skinny, too smart or too stupid! I’ve been ridiculed for wearing shoes ten-year-olds were not supposed to be wearing. And to add salt to injury, I’ve even been denied the chance to pursue my dreams.

The wounds such calamities have caused are still open. Although, these wounds and bruises can still ache like hell, I learned how to stop whining about them and keep going. I know that millions of people have been in far worse places, and have gone through far worse situations. Therefore, I learned to stop complaining, or at least to limit my complaints in time and space.

Pain

Nevertheless, the valuable lesson here is that life, which many of us may deem beautiful, isn’t necessarily easy. Sometimes, it punches you right in the head and if you duck, it just grabs you from the groin and indulges in watching as you swirl and twirl in pain. The moment you think it’s over, it kicks you on the head… with a hammer… Thor’s hammer!

It is true after all that people’s problems, pains, calamities and sufferings come in different sizes, and this is why pain and suffering are highly proportional. What is futile for someone, can be of utmost significance for a different person. Therefore, I believe that we must understand people’s stands without ridiculing them. People shouldn’t necessarily have gone through the same experiences you’ve gone through to be compassionate with them. If pain comes in different sizes, so does love.

So, yes, life is tough. It’s so tough that it takes real courage to keep on smiling. It’s so tough that the simple act of getting out of your bed every morning is a sort of victory. Life is tough when nothing works out for you that the automatic action of breathing in and out is an act of rebellion. Life is tough in many ways, yet, the fact that you’re still alive is a sign that you never give up. Only true fighters never give up. Therefore, that life is tough, doesn’t necessarily mean that it’s “ugly.”

Fighter

Even though life has been kicking me hard, I still managed to grow older and stronger. Life might be tough, but I’ve been in defiance to make a point. I believe this is true for everyone of us. You might not be aware of the true fighter in you, but it’s in there for sure.

 

Leave a Reply

